top of page

My Strange Obsession: Grape!

By Olivia Pierce, Staff Writer.



Photo by: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fsourpatchkids.com%2Fgrape-fruits&psig=AOvVaw3i0ki1QN3kVCZcbEAThQGD&ust=1671124257702000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CA0QjhxqFwoTCLD7iKjN-fsCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

I would like to officially change all of my red flags to purple flags. Why?

Well... I like grape flavored things. For me, Jolly Ranchers, Gatorade, Sour Patch

Kids, Jello, gummy bears, and gum were all meant to be grape flavored. Please do

not be alarmed. I can assure that I am not insane, it is just a personal preference.


My strange liking to the artificial grape flavoring began months before I got

my braces on in 2016. The ICE BREAKERS ICE CUBES ARCTIC GRAPE Sugar Free

Gum was sitting where all the gum in the car was located. The purple box was just

too tempting. The moment I put the cube into my mouth, the course of my life was

changed.


I realized that enjoying the flavor of grape candy and such was weird when I

walked into Albanese during my sophomore year. On the gummy side of the store,

there are containers for all of the individual original gummy bear flavors lined up

in a beautiful row; however one flavor was missing. Purple. Grape! I walked myself

over to an employee and asked them why there weren't any grape gummies out to

purchase. The woman simply said, “Because that’s a weird flavor of gummy to

want on its own.” What?


People are so incredibly grossed out by this love of grape that I have. For

example, Sour Patch Kids recently came out with packs of only grape Sour Patch

Kids. To me, this was wonderful, so I brought them to my Pre-AP ELA class taught

by Mr. Cavan. The candy gathered so much attention that the class was briefly

paused and we talked about how “abused” choice of grape flavored things.


To all my haters and questionnaires out there, I give you this advice: Don’t

knock it until you try it! If you love it, then you now have a whole new flavor of

gummy bears and Gatorade to try that others will forever steer clear of.

28 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page